The common training framework project is overseen by a Steering Committee that takes as its mission to monitor the formation of a common training framework for hospital pharmacy in Europe in order to enhance the quality of, safety of, and equity of access to, patient care in every European country.

The CTF Steering Committee members are:

  • Ian Bates (Chair)
  • Andreia Bruno (Chair of Working Group 1)
  • Roberto Frontini (EAHP Immediate Past President, Chair of Working Group 2)
  • Joan Peppard (EAHP President, Chair of Working Group 3)
  • Antonio Gouveia (Portugal)
  • Aurelie Guerin (France)
  • Eduardo Echarri (Spain)
  • Jos Kosterink (The Netherlands)
  • Juraj Sykora (Slovakia)
  • Kees Neef (EAHP Director of Education, Science and Research)
  • Paolo Serra (Italy)
  • Petr Horak (Czech Republic and EAHP President-Elect)


The task of CTF Working Group 1 is “the creation of a strong agreement on the knowledge, skills and competencies required to practice hospital pharmacy at an advanced level in Europe.” Due to the finalisation of the proposed CTF competency framework, Working Group 1 will be repurposed and focus on quality assurance. Members of Working Group 1 will be looking at the development of educational standards and guidelines; and mapping the competencies of the framework against existing education and training programmes to provide examples for prospective curriculum and training designs.

Its members are:

  • Rahul Singal (UK, Chair)
  • Andreia Bruno (Portugal, former Chair)
  • Ana Lozano (Spain)
  • Antonio Gouveia (Portugal)
  • Aurelie Guerin (France)
  • Evgeni Evgeniev Grigorov (Bulgaria)
  • Gyöngyver Soos (Hungary)
  • Anna-Riia Holmstrom (Finland)
  • Inese Sviestina (Latvia)
  • Kees Neef (The Netherlands)
  • Kersti Teder (Estonia)
  • Marcela Heislerova (Czech Republic)
  • Natasa Faganeli (Slovenia)
  • Paolo Serra (Italy)
  • Petur S. Gunnarsson (Iceland)
  • Pierre Voirol (Switzerland)
  • Steffen Amann (Germany)


The task of CTF Working Group 3 is “securing the strong engagement in, and support of, national governments, competent authorities and the European Commission for the project”. CTF Working group 3 is now approaching national competent authorities in order to present the final framework in full collaboration with EAHP member national associations.

Its members are:

  • Joan Peppard (Ireland, Chair)
  • Aida Batista (Portugal)
  • Anthony Sinclair (UK)
  • Despina Makridaki (Greece)
  • Elfriede Dolinar (Austria)
  • Gunn Fredriksen (Norway)
  • Juraj Sykora (Slovakia)
  • Maria Grazia Cattaneo (Italy)
  • Petr Horak (Czech Republic)
  • Speranta Petria Prada (Romania)

CTF Working Group 4: CTF realisation

The task of CTF Working Group 4 is to implement CTF and make it a reality within EAHP member countries. The working group was recently appointed (October 2017) following the mandate from our members during the 47th EAHP General Assembly in Malta.

Its members are:

  • Petr Horak (Czech Republic, Chair)
  • Joan Peppard (Ireland)
  • Ana Lozano (Spain)
  • Carlo Polidori (Italy)
  • Fréderic Lagarce (France)
  • Roberto Frontini (Italy)
  • Guillaume Hache (France)
  • Kersti Teder (Estonia)
  • László Horvath (Hungary)
  • Magdalena Nidezielko (Poland)
  • Sofia Margarida Santos Ferreira Jesus (Portugal)
  • Vesna Bizjak (Slovenia)


The task of CTF Working Group 2 was “the compilation of supporting evidence of the value that can be created in forming a common training framework for hospital pharmacy.”

Its members were:

  • Roberto Frontini (Germany, Chair)
  • Cornelia Vetter Kerkhoff (Germany)
  • Eduardo Echarri (Spain)
  • Ian Bates (UK)
  • Jos Kosterink (The Netherlands)
  • Jose Manuel Martinez Sesmero (Spain)
  • László Horváth (Hungary)
  • Lorna Marie West (Malta)
  • Nenad Miljkovic (Serbia)
  • Stephanie Belaiche (France)

As the compilation of supporting evidence has been completed (add link to mobility survey) and the Working group 2 has been closed. EAHP wants to thank all members from Working Group 2 for their work and support

More Information

For any further information or enquiries about the project please contact